Tag Archives: Swizz Beatz

Sleigh Bells – “Crown on the Ground” Live @ Le Poisson Rouge

18 Nov

Schuyfi was talking about these guys a few weeks ago. They’re a Brooklyn based band and they’re pretty interesting. The best description I’ve heard is MIA meets Swizz Beatz cranked to 11. So listen and enjoy this live set Better yet, get some good headphones and dance with yourself in the dark. No, that’s not a bad recording of the performance, it’s supposed to sound like that.

“Crown on the Ground” (Turn the volume down for this one)

And for a bonus, listen to “Ring Ring” (Crank the volume up for this one)


The 11 days of Jay-Z: Day 4, Our lives and times

4 Sep

do you know who he is?

do you know who he is?

When Blueprint 3 releases on September 11, it will be the eleventh studio release from Jay-Z in just over thirteen years. We decided now would be a perfect time to look back on the career of one Mr. Shawn Carter. One new day, one new album; a walk down memory lane with the music of one of the greatest rappers alive.

September 4, 2009

Vol. 3..The life and times of S. Carter

Maintaining his yearly position on the charts and silencing many of the critics from Hard Knock Life, Jay-Z solidified his place as a rap juggernaut when he released “Vol. 3..The Life and Times of S. Carter” in the winter of ’99. He’s takin’ over.

Notable Producers: Swizz Beatz, Timbaland, Rockwilder

Notable Singles: “Big Pimpin”, “Jigga My Nigga”, “Do it again (Put ya hands up)”

[clearspring_widget title=”Grooveshark Widget: Chameleon” wid=”48f3ef6c29317865″ pid=”4aa1394389bfba92″ width=”400″ height=”300″ domain=”widgets.clearspring.com”]

The Blueprint 3’s Tracklist released

20 Aug

The new Jay Z album is ready to drop so earlier this week he gave us a little taste with the track list:

1. “What We Talkin’ About” (feat. Luke Steele of Empire of the Sun)
2. “Thank You”
3. “D.O.A. (Death of Auto-Tune)”
4. “Run This Town” (feat. Rihanna and Kanye West)
5. “Empire State of Mind” (feat. Alicia Keys)
6. “As It Gets” (feat. Young Jeezy)
7. “One” (feat. Swizz Beatz)
8. “Off That” (feat. Drake)
9. “A Star Is Born” (feat. J. Cole)
10. “Venus vs. Mars”
11. “Already Home” (feat. Kid Cudi)
12. “Hate” (feat. Kanye West)
13. “Reminder”
14. “So Ambitious” (feat. Pharrell)
15. “Young Forever” (feat. Mr. Hudson)

Definitely a lot more guests than a typical Jay-Z album but never the less a solid group.

The other element is production.

There is quite the mix with Kanye, Timbaland, Pharrell, Swizz Beatz producing. The one that stands out, MGMT producing Venus vs. Mars? That decision raises a lot of eyebrows. At least my eyebrows. This is the man who declared, “Can’t wear skinny jeans cause my nahhts don’t fit.” Whats wrong Jay-Z? Don’t tell me you’ve gone hipster on us. Then again its probably just a phase, like a yuppie that buys Wayfarer prescription eyeglasses or really trendy shoes and gets shamed in conformity by his friends so he doesn’t make the same mistake.

Another thing, Jay-Z probably shouldn’t trust Kanye. You know that man is hoarding all of his best songs to himself. Also Kanye is bat-shit-crazy. He probably is trying to make Jay-Z look bad so he can declare himself “best rapper alive”. Just read some of Kanye’s own quotes if you don’t believe this theory, the man thinks he should be in the Bible.

Album drops September 11 2009.  Be There.

Jay Z The Blueprint3 Tracklist [New York Magazine]