Cold Cave – “Life Magazine”

2 Feb

Love Comes Close

Last year the Philly based group, Cold Cave, released their debut album Love Comes Close. We left a few tracks on the site back in October, most notably their first single “Love Comes Close.” Nothing about this album was remarkably new in sound, but it’s alarmingly catchy with very poetic lyrics. Caught somewhere between synthpop, post punk, and new wave, I like to consider the group one of the tail end acts of the neo New Wave (yes the universe might explode) resurgence that came to a crescendo in the late aughties. They’ve been compared favorably to New Order but while the nod should remain, I believe Cold Cave considers separate recognition; one beyond just another group swept up in the romance of’80s Britain.  Just listen to my favorite track off their album, “Life Magazine.”

Here are the lyrics:

I dig myself to the center of the Earth
then there was a hole
I crawl back and put a knock upon your door
but there was no one home

I’m not going back

I climb clouds to the bluest of the sky
but all I saw was air
I rain my love to the heads that breathe below
but none of them cared

I’m not going back

Leave a Reply

