Coachella 2010! April 16-18

20 Jan

looks like fun

If somebody asked me to list the greatest (current) music festivals in the United States, I’d probably give them the following five in no particular order: Virgin Festival, SXSW, Lollapalooza, Sasquatch! Music Festival, and Coachella. Given that I will not be attending 4/5 of these events, pardon me while I gush about the one I will.

Welcome to Coachella 2010. A three day music fest located in sunny Indio California. From April 16-18, for the price of $269, you can rock your socks off, shake your groove thing, dance like a maniac, or sway awkwardly from side to side. The choice is yours! Currently in its 11th year, the show is bringing a solid mix of rock/indie/electronic/classic/contemporary/mellow/upbeat moods to the sunny April weekend. But what’s so special?

Let me be the first to suggest that with any festival, forget about the headliners. Jay-Z, Muse and Gorillaz; triple sweet. But, that’s maybe 4-6 hours of music over 3 days. Aaahhhh! Well, a couple games of Risk and a bad trip and you’re still stuck with something like 30+ hours of music listening time! Sucks for you. So what are we going to listen to? Well that’s the point. Music festivals are all about the bands not bolded and in size 42 font because really, you’ll be spending the bulk of your time with bands o-z in size “so fucking small why bother to list it on the poster”. Well, and a few font size 30 bands as well…

So who is going to be playing? Well to start off, a personal favorite of mine, LCD Soundsystem puts on a fantastic live set and will have everybody in attendance dancing in place. Grizzly Bear and Passion Pit, 2009 darlings, will be without a doubt drawing out the likes of Jay Z and bearded plaid wearing 20somethings. Echo and the Bunnymen, YES. MGMT, Dirty Projectors, the XX, Phoenix, De La Soul, Matt & Kim, Ra Ra Riot, Florence and the Machine, La Roux, Benny Benassi, the Whitest Boy Alive…the list goes on.

MMmmm, tasty. I have a few personal faves I’m itching to see as well:

Pavement, the 90’s college radio alt rockers, are back together for a tour of the U.S. and Europe. This will be one of Pavement’s first show’s in America and I’m very pumped to get a chance to see them live. Most excellent!

I also want to catch Faith No More because as I understand it, this is a fuckin’ rock band. Okay, to be honest I didn’t quite understand the hype because as most of you are probably in the same boat, I’ve only ever heard “Epic.” Well, now I’ve listened to a few more songs and I’ve determined that they are a fuckin’ rock band. I mean, you’ve got to have massive cojones to look like that and cover the Commodores:

Seriously, I’m amazed he didn’t fight everyone in the audience. Oh, and if you want to hear it, they have a cover of “I started a Joke” too. I didn’t realize this guy could sing that well.

Frightened Rabbit has been on my radar since 2008 when Midnight Organ Fight came out. It was easily one of my favorite albums of the year and I’d love the opportunity to catch them live. I’ve also kind of established that I’ve kind of got a thing for Scottish music. Seroiusly, I can’t explain it.

Who else is on the list?

Sunny Day Real Estate; Yo La Tengo; Charlotte Gainsbourg; Portugal, The Man; Camera Obscura;  Them Crooked Vultures…That’s all I have to say about that.

sweet.

Hey everybody, wagons west for Coachella 2010!

Leave a Reply

