Why I Hate Karen O

30 Sep

I hate Karen O.  Not because I hate the Yeah Yeah Yeahs (I think their music is refreshing and different).  Not because I think her vocal style is abrasive (again, I consider it unique and pretty engaging).  No, I hate Karen O because I find her appearance abhorrent (a visceral reaction for me at this point).

Dear God, my Eyes

Dear God, my Eyes

They say beauty is in the eye of the beholder, but good god, I don’t even know if a mother could love this mug.  Its something about the roundness of her head coupled with the roundness of her hairstyle, and the bigness of her nose.  Yes, bigness.  It matches the overall feeling of unattractiveness I feel emanates from her.

My feelings of revulsion are really only for her appearance, I think their music is amazing.  It’s Blitz was arguably the best albums of the year that Tksama left off his album review.  If there’s one thing Karen O has going for her other than the band thing, it’s her pretty cool heritage–she’s Korean-Polish, born in Korea but grew up in Jersey.  Props for surviving that place.

Anyway, let’s wash away that visual with some of the musical stylings of the YYYs.  I’ve taken the liberty of providing a tracklist of my faves.  Enjoy!

EDIT [11/9/09 @ 4:02pm] : Since it seems I am building up a loyal following of individuals who disagree with my opinion, I just wanted you all to know that you can now tell me what you REALLY think: lordb at yuppiedanceparty.com.  Looking forward to hearing from you!

54 Responses to “Why I Hate Karen O”

  1. tksama October 8, 2009 at 10:32 PM #

    I am totally going to dance back, i love karen o.

    • Olivia November 11, 2009 at 9:03 PM #

      I actually clicked on this picture to show someone how AMAZING karen o is….

      SHES GORGEOUS. how could you… i hope your ears fall off!!!

  2. Eric October 14, 2009 at 10:30 AM #

    It’s funny that I saw that picture before I read anything and thought, “I’d do her.”

  3. Steph November 1, 2009 at 1:20 PM #

    You hate her because you think she’s unnatractive? that’s pretty dumb. Karen O is hot, you are wrong.

    • tksama November 2, 2009 at 11:25 AM #

      Agreed Lord B, you’re wrong. Fail.

  4. Lord_B November 2, 2009 at 11:32 AM #

    agree to disagree

  5. desiree November 2, 2009 at 7:54 PM #

    Lmfao thats the dumbest thing ive ever heard. are you an idiot?
    you dont know what beauty is..you really dont.i feel sorry for you.
    Karen O is a god.

  6. gina November 6, 2009 at 7:39 PM #

    this is fucking stupid. karen o is beautiful and to hate someone based on their looks just speaks for itself that you are a complete fucking moron, nuff said

  7. Tara November 6, 2009 at 7:41 PM #

    Wtf? She is like sex on legs. It’s a certain vibe that radiates from her. And you “hate” someone for being ugly? That’s like hating someone for having cancer. People can’t help being “ugly”. Which she isn’t. It’s just her haircut isn’t extremely flattering to her face. But who care. She’s Karen O.
    I mean,

    How is that ugly?

  8. april November 7, 2009 at 7:30 AM #

    all our looks will fade. why are people so eager to hate? if it wasn’t for karen o, i wouldn’t be typing this. don’t bite the hand then expect it to feed you.

  9. cloutwielder November 18, 2009 at 2:47 PM #

    Karen O is hot as fuck and a lot of guys agree with me on this. I love the way she looks in that pic, she’s the perfect size and shape.

  10. mimi November 22, 2009 at 4:38 PM #

    i totally agree with you. she is not attractive, and what she wears and how she wears her hair makes her look worse. i feel like she’s trying to be like chrissie hynde and shirley manson. except the other two are actually cool.

  11. Lu-lu-lu-Lourdes December 13, 2009 at 8:11 PM #

    This is a dumb post, I appreciate your attempt at objectiveness, but this is a dumb post and i have to agree with a previous poster that ones appearance just doesnt cut it as a good enough basis to hate someone.And Beauty is in the eye of the beholder.I love her hair, and I lover her nose.I wish i had the face shape to cut my hair like that.
    By the way, I don’t really like their music. too much distortion for me.

  12. Brenda December 18, 2009 at 7:12 PM #

    I never really paid attention to how she looks and I could really care less. And I’m not a fan of the music of the Yeah Yeah Yeahs as it’s simply not my cup of tea.

    Her outfits look like punk Lady Gaga. So for that reason, I’m going to have to say I dislike like looking at Karen O…the flashiness is a visual assault.

  13. LC December 19, 2009 at 11:26 PM #

    Kinda shallow point of view, don’t you think? She doesn’t really dress normally, but that’s no reason to hate her.

    If you hate her so much for that one picture, I feel bad for what you’d have to say for Lady Gaga’s ridiculous outfits.

  14. whit December 20, 2009 at 5:49 PM #

    yeah your opinion is typical. when a woman couldn’t care less what people think about her, and she dares to be whom she is inside, of course people respond as you have. you are typically sexist. i wish for you growth and acceptance of who you are. maybe one day, you too can dance on a stage in fun costumes, and make quirky noises, and write a soundtrack for a children’s movie. maybe one day you too can be free and not be restrained by caring so much about what other people think of you. i wish these things for you. especially the wearing funny costumes one.

  15. tits mcgeee December 23, 2009 at 1:56 AM #

    in all honestly, even before i started loving the YYY’s i always thought she was beautiful. she is not a typical beauty, but she is a beauty nonetheless. her gorgeous lips and that skin of hers. meow. not to mention her exotic-ness. half polish, half korean? she is so unique.

    of course all of that matched with her awesomeness on stage is like perma boner in my gay little heart.

    • tksama December 23, 2009 at 2:25 AM #

      Your post, coupled with your email address, makes me want to simultaneously high five and hug you in a field of flowers…in slow motion. Cue Berlin.

  16. an observer December 25, 2009 at 5:40 AM #

    Who the hell are you to be so damn judgemental? You HATE her because of her style; that is simply ridiculous. Post a pic of yourself with your blog so I can bash your ugly mug…

  17. joseph December 31, 2009 at 1:29 AM #

    You’re a fucking moron for saying Karen is ugly… and especially that you HATE her for it. I really think you should go walk in front of a bus you fucking waste of space, cocksucking asshole, piece of shit-eating garbage. Bye!

  18. Felicity January 14, 2010 at 3:01 PM #

    What kind of person are you to comment on “her nose” i mean that is really immature. i clicked on this picture because i have to write a paragraph about people who i look up to and i need a photograph and this one is AWESOME and then i saw the top of this page and my mouth just fell open! “why i hate Karen O” and even worse you hate her for being ugly which she is not she is (again) AWESOME. u hav just wasted my time …..

    • Lord_B January 14, 2010 at 3:24 PM #

      I think I see where you’re coming from, but I would’ve said something more like this:

      “Lord B, what you’ve just said is one of the most insanely idiotic things I have ever heard. At no point in your rambling, incoherent response were you even close to anything that could be considered a rational thought. Everyone in this room is now dumber for having listened to it. I award you no points, and may God have mercy on your soul.”

  19. trixie.t January 15, 2010 at 6:06 PM #

    i agree with you! though i dont think she’s really ugly exactly, there’s just… something really ridiculously bothersome and annoying about her appearance and general demeanor that makes me hate her guts.

    • trixie.t January 15, 2010 at 6:09 PM #

      i actually found this page whilst google image-ing karen o to see if there was any way i could avoid hating her, cause i like the yeah yeah yeahs. your link was the first thing to come up! but i mean, seriously. just look at this face. how can you think this isnt obnoxious as hell.

  20. Waaaahh January 17, 2010 at 3:57 PM #

    I, for one, agree with you. I don’t think she’s particularly attractive, “roundness of her head” described it pretty well. Perhaps I’m less extreme than you, because I wouldn’t say that she’s the most ugly thing I’ve ever beheld either. She’s simply averagely looking. Not very pretty, but that’s how most women look like.

  21. Natalia January 18, 2010 at 5:42 PM #

    Okay, so you write a blog about why you hate Karen O. NOT because her band sucks (which it does not), NOT because her voice is crappy (which it is not), but because she is UGLY? First off, I think the youngest person I’ve heard a remark like that from was maybe, a six year old I suppose? Second, Karen O is not ugly, she has a unique complexion and just because she doesn’t look like a clone of one of those sexy glamorous hollywood stars, doesn’t mean she is ugly. Wow.

  22. Mel January 20, 2010 at 11:21 PM #

    You piece of shit, Karen O is awesome because she does not fit into our American fucking standard of beauty. She’s not fake looking, she’s confident with her own look and style, and no one can tell me that thats not how people should be, because thats how they REALLY are. Celebrities are not the best example of what a human should look like.

  23. Nathaniel Vaughan January 30, 2010 at 6:58 AM #

    Very bizarre. See an optometrist as I think you have a pretty significant stigmatism. Karen O is an undeniable beauty and a rare one at that. If you think that Drew Barrymore is attractive that may be a sign of a serious condition.

  24. Alora January 30, 2010 at 6:59 PM #

    wow, I find this kind of an insult because I get told by so many people I resemble her.

  25. Chloe February 2, 2010 at 10:03 PM #

    You have no clue what you’re talking about. You obviously hate yourself.

  26. waru February 8, 2010 at 6:37 PM #

    Karen O isn’t just hot, she’s the hottest woman in music today. She has the remarkable ability to look like a dozen different people depending on the angle/expression on her face, and they’re all hot.

  27. Mimy February 12, 2010 at 10:28 AM #

    Kareo O is not hot and beautiful
    But YYY is amazing though

  28. matt February 13, 2010 at 3:37 PM #

    methinks her to be hot in a different way

  29. Luis Morales February 18, 2010 at 3:04 PM #

    I feel that perhaps you are hindered by the medias pedestrian standards of beauty. In my opinion Karen O is one of the sexiest and most compelling beauties in Rock n Roll.

  30. jaz February 20, 2010 at 6:04 PM #

    i personally find weird looking people to be more attractive than those with ‘classic’ features… i think her big nose, interesting face and smokin body make her a hottie! luckily, everyone is allowed to have their own opinion, and props to the fact that you like YYY regardless!

  31. rimix March 17, 2010 at 9:48 AM #

    Roundness of her head?? Hahahahha, what shape is your head?

  32. Luanne April 14, 2010 at 8:04 AM #

    It actually took me months to actually read your this, I think you are the most despicable and worthless person I have ever came across with.

    Besides you being a slob and a bit of a crook, you shouldn’t be talking about the appearance of a person, regardless if it’s Karen O or not, no one deserves to be even mentioned by people like you, NOW… you are totally different, I actually HATE YOU and “My feelings of revulsion” are due to the fact of reading such immaturity, I think the only one who emanates here is yourself, to actually even say that! I think while you are sitting down writing this nasty blog, you are actually smelling your dirty ass.

    How can actually someone take the time make such a mediocre critique about someone’s appearance?

    You might be fat, skinny, short, tall, or even look like a model, i don’t give a damn, but by you just writing such thing, you are disgustingly hideous!

    peace!

    I LOVE KAREN O ❤

  33. Luanne April 14, 2010 at 8:09 AM #

    ALSO, by you writing this, DOES NOT make you any cooler or smarter, it actually makes you the most stupid person or earth you human retardo, beauty and smartness come from the brain, and the good intentions of a person, you are a very ugly person, mediocre, and heartless ass.

  34. erin o April 25, 2010 at 8:12 AM #

    i cant believe that like so many others i am bothering my arse to reply to this absolutely jobby comment as i suspect this reaction is what the author wanted all along. but it is sunday and i have nothing better to do……

    anyway my point is ….. i too have often been likened to the lovely Miss o….in fact not a night out goes by without someone passing comment on the likeness (or asking for an autograph) (seriously!!) Anyhoo what i am trying to stress is that this is no bad thing. I used to have shit hair and boring clothes and while i didnt set out to imitate KO (i took a picture of my mums wedding photo bowlcut to the hairdressers!) peoples reaction to me a has been awesome!!! I went to see YYY’s and got asked to pose in about 20 photos with some really awesome people that i wouldnt have got talking to otherwise!! oh and another thing…..guys love it!!!

    P.S. I think Karen o would laugh her (perfect) ass off if she read any of this drivel!!!

    P.P.S. i think the author of the original comment was either looking for an argument or really is a small minded jobby! I dont think there is a single being on the planet that is UGLY and i certainly dont HATE anyone……and think this is the best way to be…………

  35. Rachel July 4, 2010 at 1:24 PM #

    You fucking obviously do not know what good music is or who hot people are. i feel really sorry for you. open your ears and then your eyes. Learn.

  36. Anahi Frausto July 26, 2010 at 2:03 AM #

    i bet urr jelous cuz she has the best personality wich is NOT JUDGIN PEOPLE BY LOOKS, i bet urr not even 90 60 90 body and that u talk weerd karen sings beutiful, CAN U HOWL LIKE HER cryin CRYIN CRYIN OH OH, u know wat i love her AND IM A GIRL. get a life kid, thers a bunch of kids that look up to her. U BOTHER ME!!GO EFF URSELF!! I BET URR MOTHER WAS A DRUGATIC AND LEFT U!! HER MOTHER SUFFERED TO GIVE BIRTH OF HER OF COURSSE SHE LOVES HER! URR STUPID U KNOW HOW CAN U BE LIKE “SHES UGLY THEN BE LIKE I LOVE THER MUSIC GO EFF URRSELF!!”
    GO FUCK OFF WITH JUSTIN BIEBER OR PARIS HILTON OR JEARSY SHORE SLUTS

  37. Cannibal September 20, 2010 at 5:03 PM #

    You are totally entitled to your opinion. I find her attractive, so I suppose it is NOT a face that only a mother could love, but I won’t shun you for having particular tastes. At least you can appreciate the music which truly is the only thing that people should be concerning themselves with instead of defending someone’s sexual appeal. So what if she’s not attractive to you, right? It won’t hurt MY feelings.

  38. Cannibal September 20, 2010 at 5:18 PM #

    Also, I don’t believe many people here read your full post, because they say you have a bad taste in music while they’re defending Karen O. While I agree with them that hating someone for their appearance is pretty silly, I’m sure a lot of them hate celebrities on the same basis.

  39. ASM November 1, 2010 at 2:34 PM #

    Looks Don’t Make A Person Beautiful Or Ugly. You Would Think That After Millions Of Years Of Human Evolution, We’d Be Pass That. She (Karen O) May Have A Bad Haircut, Big Nose, Flat Bum, & Skinny Legs. And Yet, There’s Still Something That Makes Her So Endearing To People. That’s What You Call True Beauty. And You Know What, She’s Quite Awesome To Look At, Too.

    Cheers.

  40. joel --ko-- June 26, 2011 at 3:37 PM #

    Your post is so dumb! you’re dumb! Who cares that? Karen O is a godness and pretty sexy, bastard!

  41. ASeaSmile March 29, 2012 at 2:36 PM #

    Karen O. is HOT AS FUCK.

  42. david October 21, 2012 at 6:20 AM #

    i love karen O
    i love her sexy voice and she’s always smile, that’s make her sexy

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. An open letter to Karen O: A response to “I hate Karen O” « Yuppie Dance Party - October 11, 2009

    […] event that you haven’t, I’ve used my internets skills to give you a hyperlink to it; you can find it here. In the article, my friend negatively comments on your fashion sense and physical appearance (while […]

  2. An open letter to Karen O: A response to “I hate Karen O” « Yuppie Dance Party - October 13, 2009

    […] like pretty much a direct quote from his posting, you can find it here. He spends the whole article really just talking about how awesome half asians are. You see Karen, […]

  3. Remix Of The Day: The Yeah Yeah Yeah’s-Heads Will Roll « Yuppie Dance Party - November 18, 2009

    […] } YDP made a lot of noise…well a little noise with Lord_B’s bizarre hate of Karen O. Well the Yeah Yeah Yeah’s got a little A Trak treatment. A Trak’s style is being called […]

  4. Happy Thanksgiving from YDP! « Yuppie Dance Party - November 26, 2009

    […] Finally, I’d like to say I’m thankful for everyone who has shared their opinion on the appearance of Karen O.  You are the people that make the internet […]

  5. Lady Gaga Didn’t Always Have a Penis « Yuppie Dance Party - December 1, 2009

    […] talented.  Also, formerly named “Stefani Joanne Angelina Germanotta.”  But unlike with Karen O, I’ll hold my tongue any further, lest I enrage the masses.  Also let’s be honest, I […]

Leave a Reply

