Random Chirps around the interwebs

28 Aug

 

  • Kurt Cobain is going to be a playable character in Guitar Hero 5. Yeah, because this is totally what he would have wanted 15 years later. Is it just me or have video games and music never figured it out (well popular music, not music scored for the game). The only games that come to mind are games like Madden or Tony Hawk. But you could basically mute the game and put on a mix cd for the same effect. Sure you interact with guitar hero and all that fun stuff but really I think it’s lacking. And dont even try to sell me on Monster Rancher.
  • Nike is teaming with Sub Pop to make a sneaker. I mean i guess it’s not any more random than Puma’s Godzilla themed sneakers, but somehow that just seems cooler… Oh well, at least they’re affordable at $150. Huh? Why dont i just throw a sub pop iron on logo onto some cheap reeboks. Better yet i’ll write it in marker to show off my sense of individual artistic style. Wait. why do I want a Sub Pop logo on my feet again?
  • Insound is turning 10…i think. I love Insound. Seriously, love the site, it’s great for vinyl and some cool artwork too. They’ve got awesome t-shirts as well (although when did t-shirts get so expensive)
  • So I loved the new Animal Collective album that came out this year. Well everybody’s favorite single from the album was “My girls.” Sure, well here’s a cover of the track by Taken by Trees called “My Boys.” I think it’s fantastic. I dare to be blasphemous, I kind of like it more than the original (maybe the lyrics hit more because i’m less distracted). Either way it’s still a clearly well written song….

 

If you already forgot what the original sounds like, check out the vid

 

  • Charlotte Gainsbourg is working on an album with Beck according to Pitchfork. On a completely unrelated note Gainsbourg was just recognized at sundance for her work in that movie by Lars von Trier…Antichrist. Yeah. I dont think i’m ever going to watch this movie.

ah well. it’s the weekend, go make bad decisions.

Leave a Reply

